FAQs for Entrants

Who is eligible?
Advancement professionals who are employed at CASE DII member institutions are eligible to submit entries. There is no limit to the number of entries per individual or institution.

How do I pay for my entries?
Once you've completed your online entry form, you will be able to pay the entry fee. Entries must be paid for online using credit cards. The fee for traditional categories is $40 per entry while the fee for the Platinum categories is $125 per entry.

I entered several items in the CASE Circle of Excellence Awards Program at the national level. Can I enter the same things in the CASE DII Awards Program?
Yes. With the exception of the new Platinum Categories, the two programs are not connected. CASE DII is a district-level program that puts you in competition with colleagues from CASE II institutions in the Mid-Atlantic. The Circle of Excellence program is an international program. Keep in mind that different judging panels are used for the two programs, so results will likely vary.

Can I submit the same project or item in more than one category?
Yes. If your entry falls within the scope of more than one category, you may choose to submit it in more than one category. You will need to pay entry fees for each category entered.

What if a category asks for one representative item from a project but there are many? Can I submit more or less than what the category asks for?
No. Read and follow the instructions for your category closely.

Can the work of freelancers be entered?
It depends on the category. Again, read and follow the instructions for your category closely. Take note of the categories that do not allow the work of freelancers.

The entry information indicates that for the 2019 Accolades competition work must be completed primarily between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018. What if my project extends beyond this time frame or started earlier?
You may enter it in the year that encompasses the majority of the work. This guideline was established only to prevent repeat entries in subsequent years.

Who will judge the entries?
The Host Judges are all advancement professionals from CASE DII member institutions. Each Host Judges pulls together a group of three to five colleagues to judge the assigned category. Host judges are asked to recruit at least one professional from outside of education whose knowledge of the category would be helpful.

Entries in the Platinum Categories will be judged first at the district level. District II winners in these categories (up to 2 per category) will then be judged against winners from other districts by a separate CASE national panel.

Awards may be given at the Gold, Silver, Bronze and Honorable Mention levels.

What if my entry materials reach the judging coordinator after the entry deadline?
Late entries will be disqualified. (Materials must be postmarked by midnight of the entry deadline.)

How do I enter if I am not already in the CASE database?
Visit the Create a New Account page to determine if a current record exists for you. If a record does exist, an email containing your password will be sent to the email address on record. If no record is located, you will be prompted to create an account.

If you need immediate assistance, contact the CASE Member Support Center at 202-328- 2273 or email at membersupportcenter@case.org.

Can I start a nomination and return to edit it later?
Yes. Throughout the online entry process, you have the ability to save your entry as a draft and return later. When you login, you will find the draft saved under "My Award Nominations." You can also start another entry after you have saved an entry as draft.

When you are ready to submit your entry, you can click the "Submit Final" button at the bottom of the Entry Preview page. Note that you will no longer be able to edit your entry once you click "Submit Final".

When will the winners be notified?
Winners will be notified in December. The Awards ceremony will be held during the CASE District II Conference in Philadelphia, Pa on March 25, 2019. We request that all award winners try to attend this special event.